Jemil’s Big Easy

 

IMG_0488-8 IMG_0358-1Hands down, this is my favorite food truck in Seattle! I have no idea what took me so long to blog and rave all over the place about this truck.

Growing up in the south and now living in the Pacific Northwest, it’s very hard to find good southern/Cajun food out here- especially fried catfish. I’m crazy to admit that I pretty much go to this truck for lunch every Tuesday when they are on 2nd & Pike St now every Thursday in Westlake Park. I can’t help myself, I love love LOVE fried food. Fried chicken, fried catfish, fried okra, fried bread, fried pickles…you get the picture.

Wait, don’t get me started on the fried crawfish beignets (when available) and fried soft-shell crab po’ boys… Okay, I will stop.

img_2212-e1402979849164-1Fried Catfish & Chips

This is my go-to for fried catfish normally other than my beloved, [UPDATE]: recently closed Catfish Corner. I haven’t fully recovered from their recent sudden closing, but life goes on. Jemil’s food truck brings that flavor of New Orleans that is not very prominent here in Seattle. There are Cajun and southern restaurants around, but from a truck, he brings it!

IMG_0482-5 IMG_0483-6

I have basically become known as the girl who wants “just fish” by Candace and Jemil. I am greeted with a “Hey boo! Just fish? Just fish for Miss Adrienne here!” When I order something different, they’re like “Whaaaat???” Hey world, I’m branching out!

I do like to try different things from truck for example: the gumbo is absolutely delicious, jam packed with meat, heat, and so far the best I’ve had in Seattle. The fried okra: BOMBDOTCOM! Fried chicken basket: fried to perfection and delectably spicy! Side note: the chicken is now a permanent menu item!

IMG_0480-4Fried Chicken Basket (normally comes with fries – ordered without)

IMG_0478-3 Crawfish Mac & Cheese

IMG_0031-2 Fried Chicken Po’ Boy

IMG_0024-2Cajun-Stuffed Meatloaf w/Sausage and Mashed Potatoes (on special that day)

img_2862-e1402979839267-2 Soft-Shell Crab Po’ Boy

IMG_0625-1 Jemil’s Signature Dish: Chicken & Sausage Gumbo

img_3366-e1402980921385-3Crawfish Beignets (when available)

Even with all of these mouth-watering menu choices, it’s just something about their catfish that to me, perfectly seasoned and deep fried is the definition of NOMUMENTAL!

As I tell you to go for the fried catfish, I will say the specials and rest of the menu are just as tasty. Can’t decide? Go for the sampler plate to get a bit of their staples. If you see the crawfish mac & cheese or crawfish beignets make an appearance on the specials, go for it!

A word of advice, this truck opens in Westlake Park on Thursdays from 11-2 p.m. Try to get there as early as you can – if you are going for the special of the day as they tend to sell out. This truck can get very busy and for a damn good reason! Jemil’s Big Easy is hard to pass up when you see it. Trust me, you’re going to want to try everything and for some like me, all at once!

Jemil’s Big Easy
Address: 2nd Ave & Pike Street – Tues (find their truck other days: here)
Website: Jemilsbigeasy.com

Jemil's Big Easy on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

