IMG_0017

Ma’ono Fried Chicken & Whisky

I’ve heard about this restaurant ever since moving to Seattle about four years ago.  Ma’ono is a Hawaiian-inspired restaurant from chef Mark Fuller that is known for their Korean fried chicken.

I’ve been very hesitant from the get go about paying $20/$39 for fried chicken, but when a friend asked if I wanted to come here for brunch, I knew the only thing I wanted to try here was the chicken. Her biggest rave was their biscuits and gravy. For $4, she said the portion was large and you leave stuffed. Reading the menu online beforehand, we found that the chicken actually comes with biscuits and gravy on the brunch menu. It’s highly recommended that you get reservations and let them know ahead of time that you will be ordering the chicken.

The price breakdown for the fried chicken goes like this:

$20 – half
$39 – whole

Now, most people would ask “Why would you pay that much for fried chicken?” I would agree, but I couldn’t resist ordering it when you have heard good reviews. Okay maybe I could resist, but I wasn’t having my leg pulled. Um, #YOLO much?

IMG_0011

I decided on the half order which includes- one chicken breast split, one wing, one leg, and one thigh. You also get a side two biscuits and sausage gravy with a small pitcher of maple syrup.

Overall, it was pretty tasty. Was it $20 tasty? I’m still undecided. The chicken skin was very crispy and flavorful.  However, growing up in Houston where Frenchy’s Chicken was king and cheap, I still am on the fence about ever paying this much for fried chicken. Oh wait, unless it’s Thomas Keller’s fried chicken, then I would pay any amount. I’ll most likely go back on my words when the next fried chicken phenomenon comes along.

The highlight of the whole meal for me was the bottomless mimosas. I never saw the bottom of the glass. The drinks just kept on flowing.

IMG_0012

Okay never mind. I ordered it, it was tasty, and I don’t regret it. Sadly I didn’t pair this with whisky.

Ma’ono Fried Chicken & Whisky
Address: 4437 California Avenue SW – Seattle, WA 98116
Website: Maono.SpingHillNorthwest.com

Ma'ono Fried Chicken & Whisky on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

