IMG_0061

Wann Japanese Izakaya

Most of the time you see a happy hour menu that offers 5-7 food items and the rest beer/wine/spirits. However, every once in a while, you stumble upon a HH menu that provides an extensive list of food choices and oh yeah, there’s the beverages on the back of the menu. Wann is just that! Wann is a Japanese-style bar and restaurant located in Belltown (Seattle).

When I go to a HH, I like to order a variety of things for my friends and I to share. I want to try everything at once; I can’t help it! Yes, I can always come back and try other things, but I’m extremely indecisive on food decisions and usually not committed to just 1-2 things. Most of the time six things on a menu sound great to me, so if the price is right, I’m getting them. Hence going for happy hour! It’s the most budget-friendly way to try a bit of each thing you like.

We arrived right at the beginning of their HH, so there were only a few people in the restaurant. SCORE! Food came out pretty quick and the drinks were constantly flowing.

ROUND ONE:

 from top left: baked mussels, pork gyoza, shrimp shumai, assorted tempura (shrimp & vegetables)

ROUND TWO:

from top left: yakitori, chicken yakisoba, tatsua age (japanese fried chicken), kushi katsu (fried pork & onion skewer), spider roll

For the most part, we all really enjoyed most of the dishes we ordered. There were a few dishes that we felt while we are glad we tried it, we wouldn’t most likely order it again. That being said, this is still an excellent happy hour that has a little bit of something for everyone.  The shrimp tempura and the gyoza- I would seriously order like three of each of those bad boys! The chicken dishes were solid as well. Next time, I will order more of the sushi rolls. I have yet to try the dinner menu here, but with such a good deal at their happy hour, we are sold.

Wann Japanese Izakaya
Address: 2020 2nd Ave – Seattle, WA 98121
Website: wann-izakaya.com

Wann Japanese Izakaya on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

